Post Exchange Beauty Haul

IMG_20160420_144956

The other day my husband needed to buy some new Army boots, and so my baby and I accompanied him to the PX.  To also get makeup.  For anyone who hasn’t heard about it, the PX (formally titled “The Post Exchange”) is basically the Target of the military world.  It is a store located on military bases that has house goods, clothing, makeup, electronics, toys, etc.  The stores vary from location to location in how much they stock, but some even have a nice outdoor/garden section and furniture options!  The basic idea of the PX is that since military families often (read: SUPER often) end up in the middle of nowhere, the Post Exchange carries a lot of good brands and options to make up for the possible (read: SUPER OFTEN) deficit of “good stores.”  My PX carries brands like Michael Kors, Bath and Body Works, Clinique, Smashbox, and even Vera Bradley.   I totally love it!

Anyway, I was running low on foundation this week.  As in, the DAY that I was going to visit family and my alma mater for an alumni event, my foundation squeezed out its LAST PUMP.  <– that was BAD TIMING, people.  But of course, there is no such thing as picking up one beauty product, and so at the end of my PX trip, I had acquired a nice little haul.

IMG_20160420_145113

L’Oreal Infallible in Amber Rush.  I had been meaning to get this ever since I watched a beauty video by iheartmakeup92.  This tutorial to be exact.  She said it was so beautiful and she was right!

 

Victoria Secret Lip Scrub in Strawberry Fizz.  I have the Victoria Secret Lip balms, but never have tried the sugar scrub.

 

IMG_20160420_145429

NYC Shimmer polish in Skyline Shimmer.  I wanted to get a light/beige color and this one had a shimmer to it.

 

IMG_20160420_145355

Wet n’ Wild polish in Sparked.  My stash of glitter nail polishes has been rapidly depleted between college and working at a ladies’ fashion store.  I needed another bottle.  This one is really close to my all-time favorite Milani glitter in Disco Lights.

 

IMG_20160420_145529

Double Duty by Sally Hansen.  I had to pick up a base coat…  because I needed something to put under those two polishes. lol

 

IMG_20160420_150415-2

Triple Moisture Shampoo by Neutrogena.  My hairdresser said that she feels like my hair was screaming for moisture.  I thought that was odd considering my current shampoo specifically says ‘moisture’ on it.  At the same time though, I wasn’t surprised considering my shampoo is a grocery store brand (Kirkland). haha <– and that’s not Kirkland as in the furniture store (I’m not THAT crazy) it’s Kirkland as in the Costco brand).

 

IMG_20160420_150451

Triple Moisture Conditioner by Neutrogena.  Because mis-matched shampoos and conditioners are annoying.  So is the fact that I always have half a bottle of shampoo left when my conditioner runs out.  Anyone else?  #longhairproblems?

 

IMG_20160420_145037

Foundation.  Because let’s not forget the whole reason I walked through the makeup aisle.  0:)  It’s the Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse in Natural Ivory 30.  This was definitely a lighter shade than I had last time, but that’s okay because I couldn’t find my original shade and because it had actually been a little too dark for me.

It was a fun trip and I’m excited to use all of my new items!  Have you tried any of these products, and did you like them?

8 thoughts on “Post Exchange Beauty Haul

Leave a Reply

