Gratitude

For a good reason, I was struck with gratitude today.

It was rainy and cold and dreary outside…but that only made the inside of our little apartment all the more cozy to me.  I had fallen asleep holding my sleeping little baby while my husband and I watched Liverpool together (Premier League soccer).  It was just a peaceful, dreamy Sunday afternoon nap and I treasured those slow minutes so much.  The three of us, curled up and spending time together just for the sake of being together.  For the sake of not wanting anything else but just that.

I really am grateful for all that I have been given–so often I can’t even believe is mine, but it is.  I know I didn’t earn it–everything in my life is a gift.  And I’m so grateful.

One thing though…I want to be better at “stopping and thinking” about my gifts and life.  I am daily impressed by them.  But I want to take it a step further than just being impressed.  I want to be grateful, and I want to thank everyone who has given me these gifts.  I want to thank my husband primarily, my little daughter, our wonderful military community, our loving friends and family, our generous Church, and ultimately God, Who lets all these  amazing people give out His gifts in their different ways.

What are you grateful for?

 

Leave a Reply

