What’s in my Diaper Bag

I should actually title this, “What’s in my purse” because I don’t technically carry a diaper bag.  Before I had the baby, or even got pregnant, I promised myself I wouldn’t become a camel once I had children…carrying a purse, diaper bag, snack bag, groceries, and a handful of coats.  Obviously children are COMPLETELY WORTH IT.  But I made it a personal goal to not have to be a camel.  Just a mom.  And so far, it’s been working.

I found a stylish bag (read: I had an unused Vera Bradley in my closet) and decided to use it as both a purse and diaper bag.  My previous purse was really just a tiny clutch, and it could hardly hold a tissue, so I knew I needed an upgrade.  But a Vera Bradley tote bag was the perfect answer to my search.  It is large enough to hold diaper-y things (is that a word?) but stylish enough to just be a regular purse that goes with my outfits.  Sometimes. Vera Bradleys can be a challenge in the matching-every-outfit category.  Oh, and I am aware that Vera Bradley makes a “diaper bag” and it’s really nice…but it’s totally shaped like a diaper bag and is hulking like a diaper bag and so therefore I can’t honestly pass it off as just a purse.  Let’s be real, it has the camel vibe.

This is what I keep in my Diaper Bag/Purse:

-diapers. duh

-wipes. more duh

-one spare outfit for baby.  doesn’t seem like ‘duh’ until you’ve had a blowout at the dentist.  yes, that happened.

-tiny roll of doggy-do trash bags.  perfect for bagging used diapers and masking the smell.

-my nursing cover.

-my wallet…this is a purse after all. 🙂

-cell phone.

-keys.

-lip moisturizer.

-hand sanitizer.

-now I feel bad for writing this because it’s so obvious…but you get the point.

It’s basically all “my needs” and “baby’s needs” without being a ridiculously giant (camel) bag of snacks, toys, blankets, towels, a deck of cards, etc.  You’ve seen those diaper bags.  You know who they are.  You know who you are.  Are you a camel?

For anyone who thinks I’ve distanced myself from the animal class by rejecting camel-hood, fear not.  I’ve embraced the human love-affair with the chameleon.  Try as I might, I still try to get my Vera Bradley to blend in with my outfit.  Good luck to me, it’s fuchsia, pink, and safari sunset paisley.

 

Leave a Reply

