New Year’s Resolutions

I am definitely a new year’s resolutions-kind-of-person.  I think they’re fun, and I also think they are valuable.  Even though it can be easy to overdo it and make too many resolutions, I think it’s better to be an overachiever in this matter than an underachiever.

I find that lists help me get things done, and so creating a list of things I want to do or improve is a good way for me to make it become a reality.  In addition, I’m definitely a sentimental person, and sometimes new year’s has a slight bittersweet taste for me.  I always miss last year.:)  But resolutions make me excited about what I have to look forward to.

When I make resolutions (though I didn’t make this year’s yet!) I sometimes like to make categories.  I like making a few resolutions that are kind of unavoidable, like if I’m pregnant, I make the resolution to give birth. haha  The reason I like doing that kind of resolution is because it reminds me of what big or exciting things are in my future.  (Plus it’s nice to have some guaranteed success, lol).   My second category is the usual–things I want to do (ex. publish my book, grow my blog, start an indoor garden, etc) and things I want to improve (ex. my french, my piano repertoire, my cello time).  Then I like making a few spiritual goals as well–like more prayer time or completing a certain spiritual book.  If I want to improve in the next year then I definitely need to make spiritual progress!

Oh and last but not least, one big tradition I have is to save my list of resolutions.  It’s really fun to look back and see what was important to me each year.  And some things seem to make it on my list every year! *cough cough FRENCH cough*

What made it onto your list this year?

 

 

Leave a Reply

