Wet-combing

It’s a tough decision for those of us with hair that is anywhere past shoulder-length…at what point during my washing ritual should I brush out my hair?  I’ve tried timing it in everyday possible.  I would brush my hair out before washing it, or after putting conditioner in it, or while it was still wet after my shower, and even sometimes not until it was mostly dry. Naturally, these all yielded different results.  I definitely have a preferred method, which I’ll reveal at the very end!

  • Brushing hair before the shower.  I recommend this.  It removes tangles before your hair gets hit with water and rubbed with cleansers.  But of course remember, this can’t substitute brushing your hair out post-wash.
  • Brushing hair with conditioner in it.  This is done best with a wide-tooth comb.  Using a regular hair brush (even a fabulous “wet brush”…LOVE those) can risk pulling out delicate hair that is made even more delicate by the water.  But using a wide-tooth comb to detangle hair while conditioner oozes through your locks…a good idea!
  • Brushing hair out after toweling it.  It’s the way you probably first learned.  After washing your hair, you towel off your head and then comb through your hair.  Again, you hair is wet and this is a sensitive (read: DELICATE) time for your hairs.  They are more prone to breakage when wet, so proceed with caution.  You should use a wide-tooth comb here too.  In my experience, this can sometimes pull out more hair then the brushing-while-conditioning process because the constant run of water (and silky conditioner) frees tangles better than simply combing through wet/towel dried hair.
  • Last but not least, there is letting your hair air-dry, and combing it out once it’s dry.  *Nobody would ever do this if they were using a drier, which is why this applies to air-dryers only.*  I have done this, and once upon a time it was my “preferred” method.  But that was when I was twelve.  Point in case.  I used a regular brush and dragged it through until all the tangles were out.  BAD IDEA. Also, this makes it INCREDIBLY hard for your hair to dry attractively because it dried tangled and then was brushed out.  So yeah…this is a “possibility” but definitely not a recommendation.

So, all in all, when do I recommend you brush your hair out during the washing-drying process?  Whether you are blow drying or not, your going to need your hair detangled.  And the winner is…combing in the shower!

I have found this to be my most tried-and-true healthy way to detangle my hair.  It allows me to pat it dry with an old tee-shirt (terry cloth towels make your hair frizzy) and then do a touch-up combing before putting on my leave-in products.  It feels gentler and is much easier than trying to detangle after the shower when your hair is partially towel-dried.  Honestly in the end, I think it dries better too!  If you haven’t tried combing through your hair after putting conditioner on it…grab a wide-tooth comb and watch your hair transform into a silky waterfall of luxury.  Or something like that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

